Q: In an attempt for a jump shot, A1 contacts B4 with their leg. B4 jumps vertically from a legal guarding position. The official called a foul on B4. Is the official correct?

A: No

FIBA Rule Book: 33.2

The offensive player, whether on the floor or airborne, shall not cause contact with the defensive player in a legal guarding position by:

  • Using their arms to create more space for themselves (pushing off).
  • Spreading their legs or arms to cause contact during or immediately after a shot for a field goal.

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...