Q:  A5 attempts to shoot the ball and is legally blocked by B5. Then both players return to the court with both hands on the ball. Is the official correct in calling a jump ball?

A:  Yes

FIBA Interpretation Article: 12 - 11

Example: A1 jumps with the ball in his hands and is legally blocked by B1. Both players then return to the playing court with both of them having 1 hand or both hands firmly on the ball. 

Interpretation: This is a jump ball situation.

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...