Q: A1 in the act of shooting, gets fouled by B4. The official blows their whistle for the foul. The ball has hit the rim and has a chance to go in. At this time B5 goes up and swipes the ball off the rim. Should the official count the basket?

A: Yes, the basket should count and A1 has 1 free throw. 

FIBA Interpretation:

31-7 :
Statement: After the ball touches the ring
- on a goal attempt
- on a last unsuccessful free throw
- after the game clock signal sounds for the end of the quarter or overtime
and the ball still has the chance to enter the basket, a foul is called. it is a violation if any player then touches the ball
Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...