Q: With A1 holding the ball for a throw in, B3 fouls A4 before the release. This is B3's 3rd Personal Foul and Team B's 4th team foul. The score is 77-75 for Team A with 0:10 left in the 4th quarter. Is the Official correct in calling a Unsportsmanlike Foul and giving Team A 2 free Throws and the Ball at the throw-in spot.

A: No.

As this is a Throw-in Foul and the Penalty is 1 free throw with a throw in for team A nearest the Foul



A throw-in foul is a personal foul committed, when the game clock shows 2:00 minutes or less in the fourth quarter and in each overtime, by a defensive player on an opponent on the playing court when the ball is out-of-bounds for a throw-in and still in the hands of the referee or at the disposal of the player taking the throw-in.


If the foul is committed as a throw-in foul:

The player who was fouled shall be awarded 1 free throw, followed by a throw-in by the non-offending team at the place nearest to the infraction

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...