Q: The score table inadvertently sounded the buzzer requesting a substitution during the second and last free throw disrupting the rhythm of the shooter who eventually missed the free throw. Both teams froze after hearing the buzzer and were told to continue playing. Should the referees have stopped the play and ordered a new free throw or allowed play to continue?

A: Common practice is that you stop the play and award new free throws. The administrating referee should try to stop the free throws before the player released the ball. If it's in the middle of the shot, then the official should blow their whistle, and if the ball goes in, it would be a throw-in on the end line by the other team otherwise, it is a re-shot of the free throw.   This situation doesn't give anyone a substitution or timeout opportunity.

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...