Q: On A3's last free throw attempt, B4 jumps up and swipes the ball away from the rim before the ball hits the rim (the ball had a chance of going in). Is the official correct in counting the basket for Team A and starting the game with a throw-in on the end line by Team B?

A: No

The official is correct in counting the basket and then when the game starts with a throw-in for Team B on the end line, but the official also needs to issue B4 a Technical Foul.

FIBA Rule: 36.2.1

A technical foul is a player non-contact foul of a behavioural nature including, but not limited to:

Goaltending during the last free throw by a defensive player. The offensive team shall be awarded 1 point, followed by the technical foul penalty charged on the defensive player.

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...