Q: A1 shoots and B1 knocks the ball out of bounds at the exact time as shot clock sounds. Who would gain possession of the ball? 

A: This would be a shot clock violation since the shot did not hit the rim and B did not immediately control the ball. The result is B’s ball nearest to where the player that shot the ball was when the shot clock signal sounds. Per the FIBA Interpretation manual:

29/50-6 Example: A1 releases a shot for a field goal. While the ball is in the air the shot clock signal sounds. The ball misses the ring and is then touched by B1 causing the ball to go out-of-bounds.

Interpretation: Shot clock violation. Team B did not gain clear control of the ball.
Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...