Q:  Is a step through a travel? You see it all the time in NBA, WNBA and College level. A player pivots then lifts up their pivot foot, stepping through and releasing the ball before their feet touch the ground again. Also, I believe it is referred to as an "up and under." But is this a travel? It seems you see it all the time called at the youth level.

A: It is hard to give a comment without a video. The normal step through play would not be a Travel as once a pivot is established you can jump off that foot with as long you release the ball for a shoot or pass.

The FIBA rule is 25.2.1

To pass or shoot for a goal, the player may jump off a pivot foot, but neither foot may be returned to the court before the ball is released from the hand(s)

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...