Q: A player dribbling the ball up his backcourt is nearing the end of the 8-second count. At approximately the same time as the 8-second count ends, the ball handler passes the ball to a teammate in the far corner. The ball is in the air and crosses the midline at the official’s exact 8-second count. Is this an 8-second violation?

A: Since the ball crosses the midline at 8 seconds, this is still not a violation. If the ball crossed the midline at 8.1 seconds, then it would be a violation, and the throw-in would happen at the centerline with 14 seconds on the shot clock.

More details at the FIBA Interpretations 28-14.

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...