Q:  Team B is called for a travelling violation in the front court with 1:40 left in the 4th quarter. Team A Head Coach calls a timeout. After the time out, the coach requests the throw-in to happen in the front court at the throw-in line. Is the official correct in placing the thrown-in at the front-court throw-in line?

A: Yes

FIBA Rule:


When the game clock shows 2:00 minutes or less in the fourth quarter and in each overtime, following a time-out taken by the team that is entitled to the possession of the ball from its backcourt, the head coach of that theme has the right to decide whether the game shall be resumed with a throw-in from the throw-in line in the team's frontcourt of from the theme's backcourt at the place nearest to where the game was stopped.

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...