Q: B1 has established a position in the no-charge semi-circle. A1 drives into the key with the ball, then jumps in the air to shoot.  He makes contact with B1.  What is the proper call?  

A: At levels that recognize the no-charge semi-circle, no foul should be called as the player was airborne and the defence was in contact with the no-charge semi-circle.

The FIBA rule is 33.10

The no-charge semi-circle areas are drawn on the court for the purpose of designating a specific area for the interpretation of charge/block situations under the basket.

On any penetration play into the no-charge semi-circle area, any contact caused by an airborne offensive player with a defensive player inside the no-charge semi-circle shall not be called as a team control foul, unless the offensive player is illegally using his/her hands, arms, legs or body. This rule applies when:

  • The offensive player is in control of the ball while airborne, and
  • He attempts a shot for a goal or passes the ball, and
  • The defensive player has one foot or both feet in contact with the no-charge semi-circle area.

Please Note: The only levels of play that currently recognize the no-charge semi-circle rule in Manitoba are at the MCAC and USPORT levels.  
Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...