Top

  • News Ticker

    Wednesday, May 01, 2019

    Throw-In Location After Violation When Ball Hits Supports and Goes in Basket

    Q: A ball enters the basket after striking the support. Should the throw-in take place closest to the violation or at the sideline location?  Same for a kicked ball that enters the basket.  The ball is dead when the official blows the whistle for the violation.

    A: In both cases, because the ball entered the basket, the throw-in occurs at the free throw line extended. Here is the ruling directly from the FIBA Rulebook:

    17.2.9 Whenever the ball enters the basket, but the field goal or the free throw is not valid, the game shall be resumed with a throw-in from the free-throw line extended.

    • Website Comments
    • Facebook Comments

    0 comments:

    Post a Comment

    Your feedback on this MABO article is welcome! Post your comments below and check back later to view other comments or replies!

    Item Reviewed: Throw-In Location After Violation When Ball Hits Supports and Goes in Basket Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Basketball Manitoba
    Scroll to Top