Top

  • News Ticker

    Tuesday, January 01, 2019

    Player Falling Out of Bounds

    Q: A pass is made toward a player who was standing out of bounds. The player receiving the pass hurries back into the court with one foot while the other was in the air (did not touch the court, but also no longer touching out of bounds) and then he touches the ball.

    In article 11 of FIBA rules, it says: "The location of a player is determined by where he is touching the floor. While he is airborne, he retains the same status he had when he last touched the floor."

    How is this article interpreted? Does the player have to come back into the court with both feet before he is considered in-bounds? or if one foot is in the court and the other still in the air - is that enough to be in-bounds?

    A: I believe you answered your own question by quoting Article 11 from the rulebook. Since, in the case you describe below, the player is no longer airborne, and, as you say he is "back into the court with one foot," and is "no longer touching out of bounds" he has established inbounds and is considered to be inbounds. Nowhere in Article 11 does it say that both feet have to be touching inbounds. So, yes, one foot inbounds on the court, with the other foot in the air, is enough to establish the player inbounds.
    • Website Comments
    • Facebook Comments

    0 comments:

    Post a Comment

    Your feedback on this MABO article is welcome! Post your comments below and check back later to view other comments or replies!

    Item Reviewed: Player Falling Out of Bounds Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Adam Wedlake
    Scroll to Top