Top

  • News Ticker

    Wednesday, October 16, 2013

    Lifting Pivot Foot

    If a player lifts his pivot foot and stands on the other foot while holding the ball, then he stands still and does nothing but holding the ball, provided the pivot foot never returns to the floor, does this situation constitute a travel?


    The situation you describe would not be travelling. Article 25.2.3 of the FIBA Rulebook states "to pass or shoot for a field goal, one or both feet may be lifted but may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released from the hand(s)." Therefore, the foot may be lifted, provided it was never established as the pivot foot, as long as the player attempts a shot for field goal or passes the ball before the foot returns to the floor.
    • Website Comments
    • Facebook Comments
    Item Reviewed: Lifting Pivot Foot Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Adam Wedlake
    Scroll to Top