Top

  • News Ticker

    Sunday, February 01, 2015

    Foul or Traveling Violation

    Q: When a player is attempting a lay-up, holds the ball in front of his chest and jumps, and the defender presses the ball resulting in the offensive player landing with the ball staying on his hands. Would that be a shooting foul or a travel?  

    A: Your question is somewhat confusing. You don't indicate that there is any contact on the shooter by the defender but rather that the defender had hands on the ball and brings the shooter back down to the floor, therefore, there is no evidence a foul occurred. If, in what you describe, both the defender's and ball carrier's hands remain on the ball when the shooter returns to the floor, a jump ball should be called. If the defender's hands come off the ball and the ball carrier returns to the floor with the ball never having left his/her hands, a travel should be called.
    • Website Comments
    • Facebook Comments

    0 comments:

    Post a Comment

    Your feedback on this MABO article is welcome! Post your comments below and check back later to view other comments or replies!

    Item Reviewed: Foul or Traveling Violation Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Adam Wedlake
    Scroll to Top