Top

  • News Ticker

    Thursday, January 01, 2015

    Held Ball vs 3 in the Key

    Q: I was officiating with a fellow from my high school association that blew a 3 second call during a held ball in the key. While we were discussing the call, he told me that senior officials have told him that if there is a held ball in the key, he should always go with the 3 seconds call. I had never heard that before. My thinking was that you can't travel, nor get called for out of bounds during a held ball, so that logic to me extends to a held ball in the key. What is the interpretation of that situation?

    A: Your interpretation is correct. Once a held ball occurs, there is shared control between teams so a 3-second violation cannot be called. The count should be suspended and a held ball should be called.
    • Website Comments
    • Facebook Comments

    0 comments:

    Post a Comment

    Your feedback on this MABO article is welcome! Post your comments below and check back later to view other comments or replies!

    Item Reviewed: Held Ball vs 3 in the Key Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Adam Wedlake
    Scroll to Top