Top

  • News Ticker

    Monday, March 05, 2012

    Blood on Uniform / Blood-Saturated Uniform Clarification

    There has been some discussion lately on the "FIBA Blood Rule" and whether or not it addresses a "blood-saturated uniform".  Clearly, upon reviewing Article 5.6, there is no reference to a blood-saturated uniform.  Therefore, I provide the following clarification for your immediate attention:

    The concept of a" blood-saturated uniform" is not present in FIBA rules. However, FIBA recognizes the risk of contamination of others by someone bleeding. If a uniform becomes saturated with blood, an official would be justified to ask that the player be substituted for.  If the uniform is saturated and needs to be replaced, it would be preferable to use a number not already assigned to another player. No penalty.

    I trust that this provides a better understanding of this particular rule.

    Cam B. Moskal
    MABO Provincial Interpreter
    • Website Comments
    • Facebook Comments

    0 comments:

    Post a Comment

    Your feedback on this MABO article is welcome! Post your comments below and check back later to view other comments or replies!

    Item Reviewed: Blood on Uniform / Blood-Saturated Uniform Clarification Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Adam Wedlake
    Scroll to Top