Top

  • News Ticker

    Saturday, October 29, 2011

    More Traveling

    Question: At the super coaches clinic, there were numerous examples where players came to a stop (eg, after flashing across the key), caught the ball with both feet on the floor, stepped/jumped from their pivot foot onto their non-pivot foot to shoot. My question is why this isn't travelling under the below definition from the FIBA rules, and what scenario would be a travel under the definition below:

    Travelling 25.2.2
    While standing with both feet on the floor:
    To pass or shoot for a field goal, the player may jump off a pivot foot, but neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released from the hand(s)

    Answer: In your scenario above, a player who catches the ball with both feet on the floor can establish either foot as their pivot foot; then, to shoot for a field goal, the pivot foot may be lifted but may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released from the hand(s).

    The article you quoted above refers to a player who is standing with both feet on the floor and jumps to Pass or shoot - he would not be able to return to the floor before the ball is released from the hand(s) (i.e. a simple up and down travelling violation).
    • Website Comments
    • Facebook Comments

    0 comments:

    Post a Comment

    Your feedback on this MABO article is welcome! Post your comments below and check back later to view other comments or replies!

    Item Reviewed: More Traveling Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Adam Wedlake
    Scroll to Top